CAT Eligibility

CAT - The Complete Guide

CAT 2023 Eligibility

  • Candidates appearing for CAT must hold a bachelor’s degree with at least 50% marks or equivalent CGPA (45% incase of SC, ST or Disability(PWD) category) from recognized university/institution/college. (not applicable for CAT 2023)
  • Candidates appearing for the final year of bachelor’s degree/equivalent qualification or awaiting for results are also eligible to apply. However, if such candidate got selected then they will be allowed to join the programm provisionally, only when they submit a certificate issued by the authorized person (principal/registrar) stating that the selected student have completed all the requirements for obtaining the bachelor’s degree/equivalent qualification on the date of issue of the certificate.
  • Candidate should fulfill any of the following
    • Completed Bachelor’s degree with the required percentage of marks.
    • Completed professional degree (CA/CS/ICWA) with required percentage.
    • Should be in the final year of Bachelor’s degree with required percentage.
    • SC/ST/PwD candidates should have a minimum 45%. For General, EWS and NC-OBC candidates, the minimum is 50%
  • If a candidate belongs to SC or ST categories the respective caste/tribe must be listed in the government of india schedule. The caste certificate should be submits to IIM in approved format
    • Name of the caste/tribe
    • Weather candidates belongs to SC or ST
    • District and Stated or union territory of the candidate
    • A copy of the certificate must be submitted at the time of CAT application registration.
    • Candidate must submit the photocopy of the certificate at the time of interview. Moreover candidates must submit the document at the time of joining the program at any of the IIMs.


  • As per the government norms 15% of the seats are reserved for Scheduled Caste (SC) and 7.5% for Schedule Tribe (ST) Candidates and 27% seats are reserved for Other Backward Classes belonging to the 'non-creamy' layer (NC-OBC). Up to 10% seats are reserved for (EWS) candidates.
  • No changes in the category will be entertained after CAT Exam registration.
  • As per the government norms for The Rights of Persons with Disabilities Act, 2016 (RPwD Act 2016), 5% seats are reserved for Persons with Benchmark Disabilities (PwD - person with not less than forty percent (40%) of a specified disability ). Where “Specified disability” means the disabilities as specified in the Schedule of the RPwD Act 2016. The categories of disability are:
    • Blindness and low vision
    • Deaf and hard of hearing
    • Locomotor disability including cerebral palsy, leprosy cured, dwarfism, acid attack victims and muscular dystrophy.
    • Autism, intellectual disability, specific learning disability and mental illness
    • Multiple disabilities from amongst persons under clauses (a) to (d)
    • Other ‘specified disabilities’ mentioned in ‘The Schedule’ of the RPwD Act 2016
Read the detailed Notification at